• Compare Auto Insurance Quotes in Colorado – FREE

    So you’re interested in learning about Colorado’s auto insurance regulations and laws. Well, here are a few basic facts that should get you well on your way to understanding. If at the end of this guide you have any questions, please call their DMV or visit their website. To compare free car insurance quotes in Colorado (CO), simply enter your zip code into the search box above.

    Colorado presently requires that all drivers have a minimum of 25/50/15 for liability covers. This means that your insurance company will cover individuals up to $25,000 to a maximum of $50,000 per accident. In addition, this level of liability insurance allows for up to $15,000 for property damage and car repairs.

    Bear in mind that this is the minimum requirement as set forth by state law. You may want to consider further coverage like collision and comprehensive.

    Colorado SR-22 Auto Insurance Requirements

    SR22 is proof that drivers meet the minimum state required level of liability coverage. Not everybody needs to file this kind of document, and it’s usually limited to drivers who have lost their driving privileges. In most cases, an SR22 document filing is required to reinstate your license.

    Colorado requires an SR22 to reinstate driving privileges.

    Colorado Laws for DUI/DWI Drivers

    Drivers in Colorado are considered driving under the influence when their Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, which is the minimum level known to impair the average person. You can also be considered to be “driving while ability impaired (DWAI)” if your BAC level is 0.05% to 0.08% though the penalties are less severe.

    Express Consent law in Colorado states that if you’re stopped by a police officer for suspected DUI and you do not submit to testing, your license will be suspended for 1 year. For your second refusal, the suspension is 2 years, and the third, suspension is 3 years. For 2nd and 3rd refusals, you could apply for a restricted license with an ignition interlock device. See special online rates as low as $39 a month from top firms – click to get free car insurance quotes in Colorado.

    If you are convicted of DUI, you could face the following penalties:

    • First Offense

    License Points (12)
    Fine ($600-1000)
    License Suspension (9 months)
    Community Service (48-96 hours)
    Imprisonment (5 days – 1 year)
    Substance abuse program in lieu of jail time

    • Second Offense

    License Points (12)
    Fine ($1000-1500)
    License Suspension (1 year)
    Community Service (60-120 hours)
    Imprisonment (90 days – 1 year)
    Ignition interlock device before license reinstatement if within 5 years of DUI conviction

    • Third Offense

    License Points (12)
    Fine ($900-1500)
    License Suspension (2 year)
    Community Service (56-112 hours)
    Imprisonment (70 days – 1 year)
    Ignition interlock device before license reinstatement

    DUI with prior DWAI Conviction

    • Fine ($900-1500)
    • Community Service (56-112 hours)
    • Imprisonment (70 days – 1 year)

    Penalties for DWAI:

    • First Offense

    • License Points (8)
    • Fine ($200-500)
    • Community Service (24-48 hours)
    • Imprisonment (2-180 days)

    • Second Offense

    • License Points (12)
    • Fine ($1000-1500)
    • License Suspension (1 year)
    • Community Service (60-120 hours)
    • Imprisonment (90 days – 1 year)

    • Third Offense

    • License Points (8)
    • Fine ($600-1000)
    • License Suspension (2 years)
    • Community Service (48-96 hours)
    • Imprisonment (45 days – 1 year)

    • DWAI with prior DUI conviction

    • Fine ($800-1200)
    • Community Service (52-104 hours)
    • Imprisonment (60 days – 1 year)

    Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

    Most states have laws regarding cellphone usage while driving. Currently, Colorado has banned texting while driving for all drivers. Cell phone usage while driving is only banned for drivers under the age of 18.

    Compare auto insurance quotes in Colorado on coloradoautoinsurancequotes.org! Lots of discounts available. Get an
    online quote today!

    Colorado State Facts
    The official Colorado website
    Colorado DORA Dept of Insurance