Currently, Colorado requires that drivers have the minimum liability coverage as set forth in the law, and that drivers have proof of auto insurance with them at all times. Their laws are a little bit stricter than most states. Save on Colorado car insurance with coloradoautoinsurancequotes.org. Compare rates instantly online and see how much you can save.
There are a variety of penalties associated with driving without having proof of insurance in CO:
- First Offense
– Minimum $500 fine
– 4 points on driving record
- Second Offense
– Minimum $1,000 fine
– 4 month license suspension
- Third Offense
– $1,000 fine
– 8 month license suspension
– Potential community service (40 hours)
Colorado Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Requirements
The required coverage for the state of Colorado is 35/50/15. What this means is that each person involved in an accident will be insured by $35,000 for bodily injury up to a maximum of $50,000 per accident. The last part is $15,000 for property damage. This coverage is mandated and cannot be opted out of.
Bear in mind that this is only the bare minimum coverage as mandated by the state. Many drivers opt for additional coverage. Liability coverage doesn’t insure you; so many drivers opt for collision and comprehensive, which insures your car after you pay a deductible up to the fair market value of your car.
Some people get higher liability limits, especially if they have a lot to lose in the case of a law suit. With medical costs up in the stratosphere and auto repairs being expensive, it might be a worthwhile investment.
UM/UIM Insurance Coverage in Colorado
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage. Colorado doesn’t require UM or UIM. However, it might be something to consider. It protects you if you’re hit by someone that doesn’t have auto insurance. You can’t file a claim if there isn’t anyone to file it with.
Additional Information on Colorado Car Insurance
Colorado does not require Personal Injury Protection coverage, as it is not one of the no-fault states. Personal Injury Protection is like liability coverage, except it covers you instead regardless of who was at fault for medical expenses and other damages.
If you are caught driving under the influence in Colorado, you could potentially face the following penalties:
- Fine ($600-1000)
- 12 points on your license
- License Suspension (9 months)
- Community Service (48-96 hours)
- Imprisonment (5 days – 1 year)
– Substance abuse program is sometimes substituted for jail time
SR-22 documents are proof that minimum liability coverage requirements for the State are met and being carried, though not everyone needs to file this. Generally these documents are necessary with people who had their license suspended and are trying to reinstate their driving privileges. These documents are currently required to be filed with the DMV in order to reinstate a license. Find cheap Colorado auto insurance and save hundreds!
If you have any questions or concerns, you should contact the Colorado DORA Dept. of Insurance. Their website is www.dora.state.co.us/insurance, and their phone number is (303) 894-7490.Colorado State Facts
The official Colorado website
Colorado DORA Dept of Insurance